Hope, Wheaton Take Team Titles at Wheaton Invitational

December 2. THE Flying Dutchmen of Hope (Michigan) college captured the championship of the nine-team Wheaton Invitational. Coach John Patnott's Dutchmen edged NCAA Division I Wisc.-Milwaukee for the championship, 771 to 760.5.

Junior Josh Boss was a double winner for Hope with national qualifying performances in the 100-yard breaststroke (:55.00) and 200-yard breaststroke (2:00.07).

The Flying Dutchmen also won both medley relays with conditional national qualifying times — the 400-yard medley relay (3:26.32) and 200-yard medley relay (1:35.00). The relays were comprised of Ian Kobes, Josh Boss, Chris Dattels and Brian Slagh/Tim DeHaan.

Brian Slagh had national conditional qualifying times (CQT) in finishing second in the 200-yard freestyle (1:43.42) and third in the 500-yard freestyle

Chris Dattels had three excellent performances, finishing second in the 200-yard individual medley (1:57.88), third in the 200-yard backstroke
(1:55.69) and fourth in the 100-yard backstroke (52:74 CQT).

The 50-yard freestyle was a pivotal event for the Dutchmen who picked up 38 points with three finishers in the top eight — Chris DeHaan, 4th (:21.65);
Chris Hamstra, 7th (:21.97) and Scott Vroegindewey, 8th (:21.98).

The 400-yard freestyle relay finished third with a national conditional qualifying time (3:07.53).

The Flying Dutch finished fourth in a field of nine women's teams at the Wheaton Invitational.

Host Wheaton edged Division I Wisc.-Milwaukee for the title, 864-861. Hope ended with 398 points.

The Flying Dutch had three first place performances highlighted by a national qualifying time and three conditional national qualifying (CQT) finishes.

Senior Betsy VandenBerg will return to the NCAA finals to defend her national championship in the 200-yard breaststroke after winning the event in 2:21.82.
She also had a CQT in winning the 100-yard breast-stroke (1:06.54).

The Dutch had two conditional national times in the 500-yard freestyle. Freshman Michelle Smith won the event (5:07.32) while teammate Erin VandenBerg was third (5:11.35).

Comments Off on Hope, Wheaton Take Team Titles at Wheaton Invitational

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here