High School State Swimming Championships: Minnesota Boys

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, March 3. ST. Thomas Academy (Class A) and Eden Prairie (Class AA) both successfully defended their titles from last year at the Minnesota State Boys Swimming and Diving Championships. The Class A and AA meets were held at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.

Class A
St. Thomas collected 263 points for their team title, followed by Monticello (190.5) and Breck-Blake (177). Faribault edged out Sartell St. Stephen for fourth, 131-130.

Monticello set a Class A mark in the 200 free relay (1:24.87) with the squad of seniors Evan Lahr, Jack Fair and Paul Fair, with freshman Blaise Nyberg swimming third. They took out the 1:26.11 the team set last year. They also captured the 400 free relay in 3:08.66. Paul Fair captured the 100 fly in 49.63 and the 200 free with his 1:40.84.

Individual Class A marks fell to Tanner Alms, a junior at Red Wing, and Cole Bateman, a Hutchinson senior. Alms lowered the 500 free mark he set in 2011 (4:39.02) to 4:36.73. Bateman took down Mitchell Foster's 49.34 standard from last year with his 49.32, and added a second victory in the 50 free (21.12).

Breck-Blake finished first in the 200 medley relay (1:36.15) with senior Mitchell Foster leading off sophomores Humphrey Pruett and Dylan Motto, plus senior Alex Herkert. Foster topped the field in the 200 IM (1:51.90). Monticello
St. Thomas senior Luke Schneeman gave the Cadets 20 points with his 46.21 win in the 100 free. Alec Kandt, a Simley senior, posted a 56.52 for his win in the 100 breast. The diving event went to Hill Murray senior Joe McGrath (397.25 points).

Class AA
Eden Prairie's 344 points gave them the team title, followed by Edina (237), Minnetonka (177.5), Hastings (133) and Lakeville South (130.5).

Mounds View senior Noah Lucas was the star of the meet, setting all-time state records in the 200 and 500 free. His 200 time of 1:37.30 erased the all-time and Class AA mark of 1:38.35 by Curt Carlson from 2007. In the 500, Lucas' 4:26.47 took out Pete Stacy's 4:31.69 from 2006 and Tom Malchow's all-time mark of 4:28.00 from 1995.

Eden Prairie swept the sprint relays. The 200 medley relay quartet of seniors Aaron Greenberg, Bryce Boston, Mike Solfelt–with freshman Griffin Back going second–claimed victory with their 1:32.64. Junior Brandt Swanson led off seniors Jenia Foster, Kyle Harjes and Jonathan Lieberman for their 1:24.67 triumph. Greenberg posted winning times of 20.65 in the 50 free and 45.10 in the 100 free. Boston topped the field in the 100 fly (49.86).

Edina junior Buzz Rehnberg led off their 400 free relay of seniors Sean Satterthwaite, Jackson Lindfell and Erick Huft to a winning 3:06.00. Lindell earned a title in the 200 IM with his 1:51.43.

Minnetonka's Noah Busch, a senior, completed the 100 back in a winning 49.14. Burnsville senior Ben Albert triumphed in the 100 breast (57.12). Daniel Monaghan, a Rosemount junior, won the diving event with 413.10 points.

Comments Off on High School State Swimming Championships: Minnesota Boys

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here