High School State Swimming Championships: CIF San Diego Division 2

SAN DIEGO, California, May 21. FOUR sectional and four divisional records fell during the CIF San Diego High School Division 2 Swimming and Diving Championships. The swimming events were held May 15 and 18 at Granite Hills High School; the diving took place May 17 at San Diego Mesa College.

Cathedral Catholic collected its sixth straight Division 2 championship. The Dons were led by their 400 free relay of freshman Cora McClelland, sophomore Mary Roberts plus seniors Molly Berry and Roslyn Kackman (3:34.26). Kackman, who will be swimming for the University of the Pacific next fall, also successfully defended her title in the 100 fly (56.20).

The only individual Division 2 record to fall went to Valley Central's Makayla Markey. The Texas-bound senior defended her 50 free victory with this year's effort of 23.62, taking down Annabel Tomes' 2011 mark of 23.67. She also collected her second straight win in the 100 free (51.25).

Canyon Crest Academy earned two relay Division 2 marks. The team of freshman Jolie Rasmussen, junior Carly Rasmussen, freshman Tracy Chen and senior Tomes began the meet with their 1:48.49 in the 200 medley. Later, they combined for a 1:38.00 in the 200 free relay.

Sarah Nowaski, a freshman at West Hills, upset two Cathedral Catholic seniors on her way to wins in the 200 and 500 free. She upset Kackman in the 200 free, 1:49.92-1:50.95, and defeated Berry in the longer event, 4:53.94-4:56.50.

Taylor Pamplin, a sophomore at Escondido Charter, was the top diver for the second year in a row with her score of 251.25 points. Ramona's Gina Lucas, who will be joining Kackman at Pacific in the fall, ended her high school career by winning the 100 breast in 1:06.87. Georgia Reilly, a sophomore at Mt. Carmel, topped the field in the 200 IM with her 2:06.80.

Tom Anderson, a senior at The Bishop's School, claimed CIF sectional records in the 200 IM (1:49.13) and the 100 back (48.94). His 200 IM time knocked out both Tim Siciliano's 1998 sectional mark of 1:49.47 and Anderson's 1:58.00 set last year. The future Notre Dame swimmer erased an even longer-standing record in the 100 back–50.23 by Cory Sinclair from 1993. The time was tied in 2009 by Justin DiFederico.

Steele Canyon senior Marco Russo knocked 1-hundredth off the CIF San Diego mark in the 100 free with his 45.17. Brandon Crabtree had swum 45.18 at last year's championship meet. Russo, who will be attending the University of Denver, gained a second victory with his Division 2 record-setting 1:38.65 in the 200 free. He shaved 5-hundredths off Eric Hedlin's prior mark of 1:38.70 from 2011.

Caleb Davies, a West Hills senior, also earned a CIF sectional mark with his 20.39 clocking in the 50 free. That lowered the 20.42 sectional and division mark of 20.42 set last year by Brandon Crabtree.

Mt. Carmel junior Grant Schenk, who was last year's champion in the 200 free, finished second this year in 1:38.82. Schenk was able to defend his title in the 500 free with his 4:24.99.

Coronado senior Putnam Browne finished first in the 100 breast in 57.12, and Southwest sophomore Kevin Menzoda posted a winning 50.87 in the 100 fly. Chase Webster, a sophomore at Santana, improved on his third-place finish last year in diving to emerge as this year's champion with 285.20 points.

Mt. Carmel swept the freestyle relays. The team of seniors Tyler Kidd and Derek Sultz plus juniors Jacob Weber and Schenk completed the 200 free relay in 1:27.90. Sophomore Chris Evangelista and senior Evan Townsend joined Kidd and Schenk in winning the 400 free relay (3:11.47). Anderson led off The Bishop's School quartet of seniors Ambert Sawaya and Chris Hewitt and junior Wesley Edgar to take charge in the 200 medley relay (1:37.37).

The Mt. Carmel Sun Devils reclaimed the team championship they lost last year to Valhalla.

Comments Off on High School State Swimming Championships: CIF San Diego Division 2

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue