Gettysburg Women, Franklin & Marshall Men Win Centennial Titles

LANCASTER, Pennsylvania, February 18. THIS past weekend, the Gettysburg women and Franklin & Marshall men picked up team titles at the Centennial Conference championships.

In the women's meet, the title is the 30th conference championship, men's and women's, for 22nd-year head coach Mike Rawleigh. Gettysburg earned a team total of 759 points, outscoring second-place Franklin & Marshall by 100 points.

Senior Cali Nelson (North Wales, Pa./North Penn) earned her second gold medal in as many days with an NCAA B Cut qualifying time of 2:26.74 in the 200 Breast. She won the 100 Breast on Saturday night.

In the 1650 Free, freshman Alex Newman (Holmdel, N.J./Holmdel) took silver with an 18:08.11 showing. Sophomore Caitlin Reilly (Farmington, Conn./Farmington) placed third in the 100 Free, touching in 54.14. She also teamed with classmates Demery Close (Berwyn, Pa./Conestoga) and Emilie Youmans (South Portland, Maine/Cheverus) and senior Emily Bohdan (Darien, Conn./Darien) to earn bronze in the 400 Free Relay.

In the men's meet, Franklin & Marshall wrapped up its third Centennial Conference Championship in as many as awarded, and fifth overall Sunday evening. The Diplomats led at the end of each of the first two days of competition, and won five of the six events on Sunday to secure the Championship. Swarthmore finished in second place with 740 points. The Diplomats scored 847 points to claim first place.

Derek Nowak was named the Men's Outstanding Performer. The Diplomats junior won the 500 and 1650 freestyle races, as well as the 400-yard individual medley. He also contributed legs on the winning 400 and 800 free relay squads.

Nowak won the 1650 free with an NCAA B-Cut time of 16:09.53. Swarthmore's Stephen Shymon took second coming in 39.3 seconds later. He was followed by his teammate, Andrew Frampton. Val Perfanov, Tim Falkner, and Phil Rehders joined Nowak for the win in the 400-free relay. Perfanov won 200-yard butterfly in 1:56.41, followed by teammate Andrew Turkewitz at 1:57.92.

Tom Grabiak also posted an NCAA B-Cut time on Sunday winning the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:07.69.

The Diplomats racked up major team points in Sunday's 200-yard backstroke taking first, second, and fourth place. Matt Young clocked a 1:56.39, followed by Matt Jaffee (1:56.44). Swarthmore's Douglas Gilchrest Scott took third, while Yaman Tasdivar gave F&M fourth place points.

Comments Off on Gettysburg Women, Franklin & Marshall Men Win Centennial Titles

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here