Florida Dominates 800 Free Relay For Program’s Eighth Victory in Event

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 29. FLORIDA captured its eighth victory in program history in the 800-yard freestyle relay to close out the night at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Florida's Pawel Werner (1:33.62), Sebastien Rousseau (1:33.13), Marcin Cieslak (1:32.86) and Dan Wallace (1:33.66) raced to victory in a school-record time of 6:13.27. That performance gave the Gators their eight win, along with triumphs in 1979, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1987, 2005 and 2011. That moved them into sole possession of second, as Texas has an NCAA-leading 12 800-yard free relay titles to its credit. Florida had been tied with Southern California at seven each heading into tonight.

Michigan's Michael Wynalda (1:34.35), Connor Jaeger (1:33.38), Anders Nielsen (1:33.38) and Hassaan Abdel Khalik (1:34.43) took second in 6:15.54, while USC's Dimitri Colupaev (1:33.23), Alex Lendrum (1:35.53), Chad Bobrosky (1:34.78) and Cristian Quintero (1:32.40) earned third in 6:15.94.

California (6:16.04), Texas (6:17.84), Arizona (6:19.28), Tennessee (6:21.87) and Texas A&M (6:22.46) rounded out the top eight in the timed final event.

Michigan finished the night with a more than 30-point lead, ahead of two-time defending champion California, 336-301.5. Arizona (234.5), Southern California (212) and Florida (196.5) comprised the rest of the top five.

Texas (192), Stanford (169), Auburn (167.5), Indiana (151) and Georgia (106) were in the top 10 comfortably heading into the final day of competition.

Comments Off on Florida Dominates 800 Free Relay For Program’s Eighth Victory in Event

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here