FINA Women’s Water Polo World League 2010 Americas Group Starts This Weekend

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, May 14. THE FINA Women's Water Polo World League 2010 will have its first games from May 16, with the start of the tournament in Americas. In Mayaguez (PUR), the national teams of Brazil, Canada, Puerto Rico and USA will play until May 23 to determine the two teams qualified for the Super Final of the competition, scheduled for June 28-July 3 in San Diego (California, USA).

Besides the American group, four teams – Australia, China, Japan and Kazakhstan – will contest the Asia/Oceania qualification, to take place from May 21-28 in Osaka (JPN) and Tianjin (CHN). From this group, two other nations will be selected for the Super Final.

Finally, in Europe, 10 teams (including one from Africa) will play the Preliminary Round, to be held from June 9-20 in different countries. From the national squads of France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Russia, Spain and South Africa, four of them will qualify for the decisive stage of the competition.

This is the seventh edition of the FINA Women's Water Polo World League, which was launched in 2004. The medallists of the previous editions were:

2004 – 1. USA; 2. HUN; 3. ITA
2005 – 1. GRE; 2. RUS; 3. AUS
2006 – 1. USA; 2. ITA; 3. RUS
2007 – 1. USA; 2. AUS; 3. GRE
2008 – 1. RUS; 2. USA; 3. AUS
2009 – 1. USA; 2. CAN; 3. AUS

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.

Comments Off on FINA Women’s Water Polo World League 2010 Americas Group Starts This Weekend

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here