Emily Seebohm With Title Trifecta in Unorthodox Distance Aussie Grand Prix Session

BRISBANE, Australia, June 27. WITH swimmers taking part in some unorthodox events in short course meter competition, the third Aussie Grand Prix in Brisbane definitely proved to be an interesting addition to the training process.

Emily Seebohm raced to the women’s 25-meter back title in 12.89, then demonstrated her pure speed potential with a winning 13.98 in the 25-meter breast against some breaststroke specialists. Seebohm’s third crown came by way of a 1:33.52 in the women’s 150-meter back.

Emma McKeon grabbed the women’s 75-meter fly title in 40.97. Her second title came in the women’s 150-meter free with a 1:23.23.

Sally Hunter hit the wall in 48.40 to win the women’s 75-meter breast. Hunter doubled up with a 1:44.53 in the women’s 150-meter breast.

Cameron McEvoy snared the men’s 25-meter free in 9.86. McEvoy raced his way to a second triumph in the men’s 150-meter free with a 1:14.18.

Christopher Wright picked up the men’s 75-meter fly crown in 37.39. Wright doubled up with a 1:24.75 in the men’s 150-meter fly.

Marieke D’Cruz topped the women’s 25-meter fly in 11.81. Alicia Coutts touched in 11.37 for the women’s 25-meter free crown. Keryn McMaster clinched the women’s 300-meter IM in 3:21.87 Madison Wilson captured the women’s 75-meter back in 42.29.

Brittany Elmslie posted a 38.78 to win the women’s 75-meter free. Katie Goldman topped the women’s 600-meter free in 6:11.47. Madeline Groves was the only competitor in the women’s 150-meter fly.

South Korea’s Tae Hwan Park also participated, winning the men’s 75-meter free in 34.95. Jayden Hadler claimed the men’s 25-meter fly in 10.62. Ben Treffers topped the men’s 25-meter back in 11.35. Buster Sykes checked in with a 12.51 to win the men’s 25-meter back.

Travis Mahoney earned the men’s 300-meter IM title in 3:03.51. Ashley Delaney won the men’s 75-meter back in 37.71. Jake Packard snagged the men’s 75-meter breast title in 43.95.

David McKeon topped the men’s 600-meter free in 5:42.67. Mitch Larkin earned the men’s 150-meter back title in 1:20.73. Thomas Fraser-Holmes cruised to victory in the men’s 150-meter breast in 1:33.77.

Melanie Schlanger, Ellen Fullerton, Emily Seebohm and Sally Hunter opened the night with a 45.05 in the women’s 100-meter free relay, while Cameron McEvoy, Damian Fyfe, Jared Gilliland and Ben Treffers took the men’s 100-meter free relay title in 40.19.

Madison Wilson, Taylor McKeown, Ellen Gandy and Brittany Elmslie won the women’s 100-meter medley relay in 50.38, while Mitch Larkin, Travis Mahoney, Christopher Wright and Matthew Abood closed the session with a 44.36 in the men’s 100-meter medley relay.

Comments Off on Emily Seebohm With Title Trifecta in Unorthodox Distance Aussie Grand Prix Session

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue