Day 3: 1998 NCAA Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships

Stanford wins title with 422.0 points. Eighth NCAA title, six in the 1990’s. Stanford head coach Richard Quick won his 12th NCAA title.

Event 15 (1,650 freestyle – FINAL) Arizona’s Trina Jackson defended her title in the 1,650 freestyle with a time of 15:49.25, a new Dorothy L. Sheppard Pool record. Jackson swam the leadoff leg of the national champion 800 freestyle relay and placed second in the 500 freestyle event. Arizona claimed the top two finishes in the event as Laurie Kline placed second in 16:02.07.

Event 16 (200 backstroke – FINAL) Stanford’s Misty Hyman won her second individual NCAA title and overall her fourth of the championships in capturing the 200 backstroke crown in a Dorothy L. Sheppard Pool record time of 1:53.12. Georgia’s Keegan Walkley finished second with a time of 1:53.22 Hyman’s winning time is the third-fastest all-time and Walkley’s second-place time the fourth fastest trailing only two-time NCAA champion Whitney Hedgepeth’s (Texas) all-time best times of 1:52.98 (1992) and 1:53.05 (1994). 1997 champion Lindsay Benko of USC placed fifth in 1:55.59.

Event 17 (100 freestyle – FINAL) SMU’s Martina Moravcova successfully completed the defense of her three individual crowns with the title in the 100 freestyle. Moravcova finished with a time of 48.81 seconds. She also defended titles in the 200 freestyle and the 200 individual medley to become the first swimmer since Summer Sanders in 1991-1992 to win three individual titles in back-to-back championships. Moravcova also was a member of the winning 200 freestyle relay. Mustang teammate Rania Elwani placed second in a time of 49.01.Catherine Fox, already a four-time NCAA champion in 1998, placed sixth in 49.27.

Press release from

Comments Off on Day 3: 1998 NCAA Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue