College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin: Day One

KENOSHA, Wisconsin, February 16. THE Illinois Wesleyan women and Wheaton men are the team leaders after the first day of the 2012 College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) Swimming Championships, hosted by Carthage College.

The Titans lead the women's standings with a team score of 285, followed by Wheaton (262), Carthage (253), Augustana (115), North Central (104), Millikin (61) and Rose-Hulman (53).

In the men's standings, the Thunder lead with a team score of 313, followed by Carthage (271), Illinois Wesleyan (150), Augustana (132), Rose-Hulman (107), Millikin (56) and North Central (45).

The Wheaton 200-yard freestyle relay team of Moire Yue (Edina, Minn./H.S.), Marcey Wennlund (Naperville, Ill./North), Kelly Ormond (Fairlawn, Ohio/Cuyahoga Valley Christian) and Ali Offerdahl (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla./Westminster Academy) won the first event of Thursday's finals session, clocking in at a time of 1:36.75.

Illinois Wesleyan's Angela Lugg (Woodbury, Minn./H.S.) was champion in the 500-yard freestyle with a meet record time of 4:58.26, followed by Wheaton's Lauren Jurgens (Decatur, Ill./St. Teresa) (5:05.24) and Millikin's Kaley Wittrock (Jefferson City, Mo./H.S.) (5:08.58).

Carthage's Ashley Gladis (Batavia, Ill./H.S.) won the 200-yard IM (2:08.19), followed by North Central's Katie Stratton (Naperville, Ill./North) in second (2:09.77) and Illinois Wesleyan's Katie McHugh (Homewood, Ill./Homewood-Flossmoor) in third (2:10.77).

Yue won her second event of the night in the 50-yard freestyle (23.87). Carthage's Natalia Bialecka (Des Plaines, Ill./Maine East) was second (24.33), followed by Illinois Wesleyan's Grace Nafziger (Louisville, Ky./Presentation Academy) in third (24.54).

Illinois Wesleyan's Andrea Peterson (Homewood, Ill./Homewood-Flossmoor), Lizzie Egan (Oak Lawn, Ill./H.S.), McHugh and Lugg closed out the night with a win in the 400-yard medley relay, finishing with a meet record time of 3:54.16.

The men's finals events began with the 200-yard freestyle relay as Wheaton's Dave Brown (Newtown, Pa./Council Rock North), Wills Francis (Virginia Beach, Va./Cox), Tim Walker (Dassel, Minn./Dassel Cokato) and Dan Nahigian (La Canada, Calif./Maranatha) finished first with a time of 1:24.08.

Carthage's Teryn Solan (St. John, Ind./Lake Central) won the 500-yard freestyle (4:41.45), followed by Wheaton's Korey Clement (Jenison, Mich./H.S.) (4:41.47) and Carthage's Connor McCurrie (Wilmette, Ill./New Trier) (4:44.67).

Carthage's Kyle Drake (Aurora, Ill./Waubonsie Valley) captured the title in the 200-yard IM with a time of 1:53.68. Rose-Hulman's Matt Ross (West Lafayette, Ind./Harrison) placed second (1:55.32) and Illinois Wesleyan's Marcus Duval (Bloomington, Minn./International School of Minnesota) was third (1:55.37).

The Red Men made it a clean sweep in Thursday's individual events as Ryan Ortmann (Woodstock, Ill./H.S.) won the 50-yard freestyle (21.05). Wheaton's Francis (21.07) and Nahigian (21.45) placed second and third respectively.

Carthage closed out the evening with a victory in the 400-yard medley relay as Drake, Scott Pinter (Bloomington, Ill./Normal), Doug Schranck (Alton, Ill./Marquette Catholic) and Ortmann won with a time of 3:25.58.

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.

Comments Off on College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin: Day One

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here