CIF North Coast Section Championships

By Sarah Eckersley

CONCORD, California, May 19. JUNIOR Kasey Carlson, a six-star recruit from Las Lomas High School, highlighted the CIF North Coast Section Championships by setting a High School National Record in the prelims of the 100 breaststroke with a time of 58.75.

Girls Results
San Ramon Valley won their first state title by compiling 222 points. Campolindo took second (203) and Monte Vista (Danville) placed third (196).
Las Lomas opened the meet with a win in the 200 medley relay. Chrissy Thomas, Carlson, Jaclyn Amog, and Shaila Yoder clocked a time of 1:42.99, only .22 seconds off the 2008 record. Carlson surpassed the 2007 section record set by Kate Dwelley (Liberty) in the 50 freestyle with a time of 22.61.

Maya DiRado (Maria Carrillo) took first in the 200 IM with a section record time of 1:57.08. The previous record (1:58.45) was set in 2000 by Natalie Coughlin (Carondelet).

Swimming World five-star recruit Deborah Roth (Redwood – Larkspur) won the 100 backstroke with a time of 53.33. She teamed up with Laura Slater, Kristina Parsons, and Devon DeMont in the 200 freestyle relay for a first-place finish in a section record time of 1:34.94. Monte Vista's Ralyea, N. Bierwith, Cappelletti, and K. Bierwith were the previous record holders.

Sophomore Catherine Breed (Amador Valley) had individual wins in the 200 (1:47.44) and 500 freestyles. Breed's 500 freestyle time of 4:44.90 was four-tenths of a second off Sarah Anderdson's 1993 section record.

In the diving competition, sophomore Katja Pidel of San Ramon Valley took first with a score of 404.95. Senior Katie Thralls (Granada) finished close behind with a score of 401.30, and senior Kim Lisiak (Carondelet) placed third (364.45).

Azita Sayadi joined Slater, Parsons, and Roth to close the meet with a win in the 400 freestyle relay (3:28.65).

Boys Results
Campolindo won their fifth state title since 2005, scoring 239.5 points. Miramonte and Acalanes placed second (199) and third (155) respectively.

David Palley, Morgan Kennedy, Piankhi Gibson, and Nick Hoversten (Acalanes) won the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:34.26.

Aaron Wayne, a three-star recruit who will be attending Stanford University in the fall, set two section records. He surpassed the 17-year-old record in the 200 freestyle by nearly four-tenths of a second with a time of 1:38.12. The previous record was held by Mike Williams of Clayton Valley. In the 100 freestyle, he exceeded the record set last year by Sean Reilly (Clayton Valley) with a time of 44.27.

Sophomore Kristian Ipsen (De La Salle) bettered his section record in the diving competition with a score of 699.60. Tyler Pullen (Amador Valley) took second (515.25) and Spencer Corley (Cardinal Newman) finished third (411.45).

San Ramon Valley finished first in the 200 freestyle relay with a time of 1:25.42. Kevin Schirmer, Justin Gribble, Patrick Weiss, and Byron Gruendl contributed to the win.

Max Horrell (Analy) won the 100 fly with a section record time of 48.38, whlie Ben Whitenack (Healdsburg) claimed the 100 back in 51.16. California High School's Derek Guffey set the previous record (49.83) in 1992.

Bret Lathrope, Sean Haufler, James Perry, and Nick Deaver (Miramonte) closed the meet with a first-place finish in the 400 freestyle relay (3:08.59).

Comments Off on CIF North Coast Section Championships

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here