Christian Carbone Breaks Meet Record, Colorado Stars Win on Final Night in Pleasant Prairie

By Rebecca Noblett

PLEASANT PRAIRIE, Wisconsin, March 16. Christian Carbone of Harvard smashed an eleven-year old meet record in the 200 fly on the final night of the Speedo Pleasant Prairie Central Sectionals.

Carbone won his fifth event of the meet in the 200 fly, breaking the meet record by more than two seconds with his winning time of 1:46.87. Lake Forest’s Pat King touched second with a time of 1:53.58. Chicago Wolfpack Aquatics’ Tony Tremmel hit the wall third with a personal best time of 1:54.27.

Colorado Athletic Club’s Kaylyn Flatt shaved more than 26 seconds off her mile to take first place with a time of 17:06.90. Black Hawk’s Brittany Moffatt knocked more than 36 seconds off her personal best with her second place time of 17:18.48. Emma Hruby of the Iowa Flyers dropped almost seven seconds from her personal best with a third place finish of 17:31.42.

Brennan Mays of Colorado Springs won the men’s mile with a personal best of 15:54.81. Lifetime Arizona’s Drew Eisen dropped an incredible 46 seconds for second, clocking in at 16:01.93. Cedar Rapids Aquatics’ Cameron Kelley posted a 16:18.24 for third place and a new personal best.

Alexa Harris of Lane Four Aquatics put up a 1:59.14 to win the women’s 200 back. The Peoria Area Water Wizards’ Rachael Kelch touched just behind her with a personal best of 1:59.35. Mitchell Aquatics’ Tevyn Waddell clocked in at 2:01.06 for third.

The Iowa City Eels’ Alex Walton posted a personal best of 1:46.10 to win the men’s 200 back, clearing the rest of the field by a good two seconds. Munster’s James Beckman touched second with a personal best time of 1:48.20. Cedar Rapids Aquatics’ Calvin Greve hit the wall in a personal best 1:50.75 for third.

Shayle Finnesand of Aberdeen won the women’s 100 free with a personal best time of 51.31. Blackline Aquatics’ Megan Wenman went 51.90 to just edge out Cedar Rapids Aquatics’ Kelsey Drake (51.95) for second.

Mark McGlaughlin of the Iowa Flyers put up a personal best of 44.58 to win the 100 free. Lifetime Arizona’s Kenneth Stirling clocked in at 45.31 for second. Longmont’s Forrest Beesley, who will swim at UNLV next year, went 46.13 for third.

Nikki Smith of Munster posted a personal best 1:59.41 to win the women’s 200 fly. Cedar Rapids Aquatics’ Kelsey Drake set a new personal best with her second place time of 2:00.94, while Rachael Kelch of the Peoria Area Water Wizards touched third in 2:04.13.

Black Hawk’s women (Brittany Moffatt, Olivia Clark, Madison Hall, Shelby Cline) won the 400 free relay with a time of 3:31.20. The Blue Devils (Courtney Barker, Jessie Grasty, Madison Rinaldi, Paige Wells) clocked in at 3:32.73 for second. Blackline Aquatics (Caroline Gaertner, Lorelei Gaertner, Olivia Johnston, Megan Wenman) touched in 3:32.97 for third.

The Peoria Area Water Wizards (Matt Kamin, Jake Vandermyde, Chris Neaveill, Tyler Neaveill) posted a 3:05.24 to win the men’s 400 free relay. The Colorado Stars (Austin Phillips, James Boone, Alex Kohlman, Triston Mosby) posted a 3:07.87 for second. Lifetime Arizona (Weston Miller, Austin Drummond, Marcello Quarante, Kenneth Stirling) hit the wall in 3:10.58 for third.

Comments Off on Christian Carbone Breaks Meet Record, Colorado Stars Win on Final Night in Pleasant Prairie

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue