Carmen Balbuena Heredia, Alejandro Garcia Martin Double Up on Final Day of Madrid Open Circuit

MADRID, Spain, June 8. THE Madrid Open Circuit came to a close with another spate of swims as part of the third-and-final Summer Trophy stop.

Alejandro Garcia Martin blasted the field in the men’s 200-meter IM with a 2:03.99. Gonzalo Carazo Barbero took second in 2:08.51 with Joan Lluis Pons Ramon earning third overall in 2:09.52. Garcia Martin doubled up with a 2:06.31 in the men’s 200-meter back. Juan Segura Gutierrez took second in 2:07.41 with Hector Fontabella Castellanos finishing third in 2:09.67.

Carmen Balbuena Heredia turned in a 28.13 to win the women’s 50-meter fly. Katherine Anne Mills claimed her second runner-up finish of the night with a 28.66, while Celia Martinez De La Torre took third in 28.80. Balbuena Heredia snagged a second title with a 2:15.03 in the women’s 200-meter fly. Carmen Rico Perez took second in 2:19.55, while Laura Rodriguez Cao earned third in 2:20.69.

Video of Balbuena Heredia winning the 200 fly at the European Youth Olympic Festival in 2013

Francisco Manuel Bled Martin clinched the men’s 1500-meter free title in 15:59.29 with Guillermo Sanchez Guttierez-Cabello taking second in 16:09.74. Guillermo Pujol Belmonte wound up third in 16:11.22.

In an exciting finish, Juan Marin Sanchez touched out Juan Salvador Duran Cortines by the slimmest of margins, 1:52.61 to 1:52.62, for the men’s 200-meter free crown. Marc Vivas Egea finished third overall in 1:54.68.

Hector Monteagudo Espinosa cruised to victory in the men’s 100-meter breast with a 1:03.79. Gonzalo Carazo Barbero took second in 1:05.69 with Israel’s Amir Haviv taking third overall in 1:06.00. Luis Garcia Lizaran grabbed the men’s 100-meter fly crown in 55.19, while Javier Barrena Lorono finished second in 56.06. Israel’s Kirill Baron snared third-place honors in 57.51.

Juan Segura Gutierrez took home the men’s 50-meter back crown in 26.49 with Daniel San Roman Fernandez earning second in 27.72. Israel’s Kirile Baron picked up his second podium of the night with a third-place 27.81. Pablo Reguera Sayans raced his way to the men’s 50-meter free crown in 23.70. Alejandro Migueles Arroyo placed second in 23.97 with Pedro Malpartida Mendez finishing third in 24.11.

Israel’s Zohar Shikler snatched the women’s 100-meter free title in 57.72 with Sandra Pallares Gomez taking second in 58.42. Elisa Sanchez Morales placed third in 58.65. Elena Rodriguez Santesteban put up a 33.89 to win the women’s 50-meter breaststroke. Cintia Blanco Martinez took second in 35.33 with Paula Medina Blanco winding up third in 35.90.

Maria Alcaide Dominguez tracked down the women’s 400-meter IM title in 4:58.21, while Carmen Rico Perez finished second in 5:01.73. Esther Huete Carrasco placed third in the finale with a 5:06.70. Laura Yus Fernandez hit the wall in 1:03.42 to win the women’s 100-meter back with Katherine Anne Mills checking in second with a 1:03.51. Natalia Pena Ortiz placed third in 1:05.70.

Paula Ruiz Bravo grabbed the women’s 400-meter free crown in 4:20.52. Africa Zamorano Sanz (4:21.07) and Sandra Pallares Gomez (4:24.42) finished second and third in the finale. Jimena Perez Blanco picked up the women’s 200-meter breast title in 2:42.51. Africa Zamorano Sanz (2:43.23) and Ana Isabel Vadillo Fernandez (2:43.38) rounded out the top three.

Full results available at

Comments Off on Carmen Balbuena Heredia, Alejandro Garcia Martin Double Up on Final Day of Madrid Open Circuit

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue