Brett Ormsby DI Player of the Year on American Water Polo Coaches’ All-American Squad

BRIDGEPORT, PA, December 26. THE American Water Polo Coaches Association announced its Division I, II and III All-American team for the 2004 season this week.

The Player of the Year for Division I was Brett Ormsby from the University of California, Los Angeles. Ormsby completed one of the most successful careers in UCLA water polo history on December 5 with an NCAA Championship and a Tournament MVP award. The 2004 Athens Olympian led the Bruins in scoring for the fourth consecutive year with 70 goals in his final campaign. The El Cajon, California, native also led the Bruins in steals (30) and was second on the squad with 23 assists. He culminated his career with 241 goals, second most all-time at UCLA.

The Player of the Year for Division II was Vanja Kalabic from the Brigham Young University, Hawaii. Kalabic led the Seasiders in scoring and ejections drawn for the fourth consecutive year with 54 goals and 32 ejections drawn and is the institution's all-time leader in both categories. He received All-WWPA honors for the third consecutive season.

The Player of the Year for Division III was Brian Mead from Johns Hopkins University. Mead leaves Hopkins as the all-time leading scorer in JHU history and tallied his 100th goal of the season in the Blue Jays' final game of the year. He has been named to the CWPA Southern Division All-Conference team each of his four seasons at Hopkins. Mead has earned Most Valuable Player honor as the Division III Eastern Championship twice in his career.

Division I:

Brett Ormsby, Player of the Year University of California, Los Angeles
Adam Krikorian, Coach of the Year University of California, Los Angeles

First Team
Tony Azevedo Stanford University
Thomas Hopkins Stanford University
John Mann University of California, Berkeley
Rick Merlo University of California, Irvine
Brett Ormsby University of California, Los Angeles
Joseph Axelrad (Goaltender) University of California, Los Angeles
Juraj Zatovic University of Southern California

Second Team
Endre Rex-Kiss Loyola Marymount University
Josh Acosta Pepperdine University
Peter Sabbatini (Goaltender) Princeton University
Peter Varellas Stanford University
Dreason Barry University of California, Irvine
Albert Garcia University of California, Los Angeles
James Shin University of Southern California

Third Team
Brett McCleave Long Beach State University
John Stover Princeton University
Chad Taylor (Goaltender) Stanford University
Patrick Rollo United States Naval Academy
Ted Peck University of California, Los Angeles
Michael March University of California, Los Angeles
Brian Alexander University of California, Santa Barbara

Honorable Mention
Vanja Kalabic Brigham Young University, Hawaii
Brad Roslyn Bucknell University
Goran Milic California Baptist University
Rick Offsay Harvard University
Grant Miller Pepperdine University
Botond Szalma St. Francis College
Gergely Fabian St. Francis College
Aleksandar Stankovic (Goaltender) St. Francis College
Greg Crum Stanford University
Murphey Morgan United States Air Force Academy
Andrija Vasiljevic University of California, Berkeley
Marty Matthies University of California, Berkeley
Pat Jacobson University of California, Davis
Dan Noon University of California, Irvine
Josh Hewko University of California, Los Angeles
Thomas Hale University of Southern California
Nick Andrejich University of Southern California
Dragan Bakic University of the Pacific
Julian Gonzalez University of the Pacific

Division II
Vanja Kalabic, Player of the Year Brigham Young University, Hawaii
Denny Harper, Coach of the Year University of California, San Diego

First Team
Vanja Kalabic Brigham Young University, Hawaii
Vlada Stankovic Brigham Young University, Hawaii
Charles Doane Gannon University
Brad Armstrong Mercyhurst College
Goran Bakovic (Goaltender) Salem International University
Chris Eichholz University of California, San Diego
Chris Feingold University of California, San Diego

Division III
Brian Mead, Player of the Year Johns Hopkins University
Mitch Carty, Coach of the Year Whittier College

First Team
Jeff Hall Chapman University
Brian Mead Johns Hopkins University
Will Broer University of La Verne
Spencer Dinnean University of Redlands
Ryan Hall University of Redlands
AJ Kotanjian Whittier College
Ethan Jessup (Goaltender) Whittier College

Second Team
Scott Bredesen California Lutheran University
Matt Milich Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges
James Singleton Johns Hopkins University
Dave Lohrey Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jake Zerbe Whittier College
Dave Mulcahey Whittier College
Casey Finfrock (Goaltender) University of Redlands

Honorable Mention
Tyler Owens Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges
Mitch Williams (Goaltender) Johns Hopkins University
Anthony Spoto Penn State Behrend College
Tim Brown Pomona-Pitzer Colleges

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here