Breeja Larson Clinches Second Breaststroke Victory at Texas Senior Circuit

AUSTIN, Texas, July 12. ANOTHER day, another breaststroke win for Olympian Breeja Larson at the Texas Senior Circuit event.

Larson had another breaststroke win here in Austin with a 1:08.32 in the 100-meter after topping the 200-meter event last night. Longhorn’s Gretchen Jaques took second in 1:09.51 with Longhorn’s Jordan Surhoff placing third in 1:13.43.

Longhorn’s Sarah Denninghoff raced through the women’s 200-meter back finale with a 2:12.52 for the win. Teammates Quinn Carrozza (2:14.35) and Tasija Karosas (2:16.10) bracketed her with second and third-place finishes. NBAC’s Pat Murphy posted a 2:02.14 to win the men’s 200-meter back title, while Austin Surhoff earned second in 2:02.42. Nitro’s Gus Whiteman wound up third in 2:07.09.

Longhorn’s Clay Youngquist nearly set a personal best with a 1:48.90 to win the men’s 200-meter free. That’s just half-a-second off his 1:48.44 from the 2010 Junior Pan Pacific Championships. The Woodlands’ Michael McBroom placed second in 1:50.34 with HSC’s Jake Ritter taking third in 1:51.72.

Longhorn’s Madisyn Cox raced her way to a 1:59.93 to win the women’s 200-meter freestyle, while Aggie’s Sarah Henry touched second in 2:00.31. Longhorn’s Tasija Karosas picked up third-place honors in 2:02.17. Longhorn’s Imri Ganiel hit the wall in 1:03.15 to win the men’s 100-meter breast. Nitro’s Will Licon (1:03.35) and Cole Hurwitz (1:04.01) rounded out the top three.

Longhorns went 1-2-3 in the women’s 100-meter fly. Kelsey Leneave won in 1:00.78 with Lisa Boyce taking second in 1:01.41. Victoria Edwards comprised the rest of the podium with a third-place 1:01.59. Nitro’s Matt Ellis prevailed in the men’s 100-meter fly with a 53.01. The Woodlands’ Tripp Cooper touched second in 53.29, while Alamo Area’s John Murray clinched third in 54.52.

At the end of the night, Aggie’s Sarah Henry blitzed the women’s 400-meter IM with a time of 4:43.88. She turned the tables on Madisyn Cox, who beat her in the 200-meter free earlier in the night. Cox took second in 4:47.63 with CFSC’s Chelsie Miller earning third in 4:52.75. PACK’s Ben Walker captured the men’s 400-meter IM title in 4:27.78. Austin Vacek (4:29.59) and Hayden Henry (4:35.41) tracked down second and third.

Full results on Meet Mobile.

Comments Off on Breeja Larson Clinches Second Breaststroke Victory at Texas Senior Circuit

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue