Brazilian Open Long Course Championships: Cesar Cielo Leads Way in 100 Free; Daniel Orzechowski, Henrique Barbosa Crack Top 10s

RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil, December 15. THE first day of morning finals proved to be slower than preliminary qualifying last night at the Brazilian Open Long Course Championships.

Cesar Cielo, who already stands second in the world this year with a 47.84 from the Pan American Games in October, won the men's 100 free in finals with a 48.42. He was one of the few title winners to go faster than prelims, as he paced prelims in 48.52. Nicolas Oliveira snared second in 48.71, while Marcelo Chierighini wound up third in 49.22.

Daniel Orzechowski jumped to fourth in the rankings in the men's 50 back with a 24.78 during prelims before winning today in 24.88. Guilherme Guido finished second in 25.40, while Fabio Santi touched third in 25.83.

Henrique Barbosa cleared 2:10 in the men's 200 breast qualifying with a swift 2:09.82. That effort moved him up to eighth in the world rankings. He won the finale in 2:11.63, while Thiago Parravicini picked up second in 2:16.32. Gabriel Souza placed third in 2:17.83.

Fabiola Molina won the women's 50 back in 28.31 after qualifying in 28.25 to move to 16th in the world rankings. Natalia Mendes Diniz touched second in 29.19, while Etiene Pires Medeiros claimed third in 29.20.

Tatiana Lemos Lima led qualifying in the women's 100 free with a 55.78, while Larissa Oliveira wound up winning the finale in 55.87. Lima took second in the finale with a 56.23, while Roberta Albino earned third in 56.50. Henrique Rodrigues hit the wall in 1:59.79 to win the men's 200 IM. Thiago Pereira (2:00.19) and Andre Schultz (2:00.63) finished second and third.

Michele Schmidt posted a 2:36.19 during prelims before winning the women's 200 breast in 2:37.20. Juliana Marin touched second in 2:37.80, while Pamela Souza snared third in 2:39.33. Joanna Maranhao clocked a 2:14.35 in prelims in the women's 200 IM, then won the title in 2:14.96. Larissa Cieslak took second in 2:23.17, while Julia Volkmann placed third in 2:23.28.

Lucas Kanieski claimed the men's 1500 free crown in 15:28.56. Juan Pereyra (15:30.41) and Marcos Oliveira (15:30.90) placed second and third.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here