Bowen SEC Swimmer of the Year; Marsh, Brackin Coaches of the Year

AUBURN, Ala., April 21. – AUBURN swimmer Maggie Bowen was named the Southeastern Conference Women's Swimmer of the Year while AU coaches David Marsh and Kim Brackin were named the SEC Coaches of the Year as voted by the league's head coaches, the conference office announced on Monday.

For Bowen, a nine-time NCAA champion and a 15-time SEC champion, this is the third consecutive year that she has been named the SEC's Women's Swimmer of the Year. This past season Bowen won the SEC title in the 400-yard individual medley for the fourth consecutive season, setting the SEC record. It marked the first time in SEC history that a single individual has won that event all four years. She also claimed the SEC title in the 200-yard IM, which she won for the third consecutive year, and the 100-yard breaststroke while also swimming a leg for the SEC Champion 200-, 400-, and 800-yard freestyle and 400-yard medley relay teams.

At the national level, Bowen earned six All-America honors this season to bring her career total to 21. In the process, Bowen won both the 200- and 400-yard IMs for the third consecutive season. She also swam a leg for the NCAA champion 400- and 800-yard freestyle and 400-yard medley relay teams.

Marsh and Brackin were named SEC Women's Swimming Co-Coaches of the Year after leading Auburn to back-to-back NCAA championships and the program's first-ever SEC title. This marks the second consecutive season that Marsh was named the SEC Women's Coach of the Year and the third overall, as he also won it in 1993. For Brackin, it is the first such honor.

Marsh was also named the SEC Men's Swimming Coach of the Year after guiding the AU men to their seventh straight conference crown and ninth in the last 10 years as well as their third NCAA title since 1997. This season is the seventh year that he has been recognized as the top coach in the league. He also won the award in 1992, '93, '97, '98, '99 and 2001.

Comments Off on Bowen SEC Swimmer of the Year; Marsh, Brackin Coaches of the Year

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here