Australian Olympians to Play Hosts to China and South Africa in Pro Meet in January

PERTH, Australia, November 16. OLYMPIC gold medallists Alicia Coutts, Melanie Schlanger and Cate Campbell will headline the EnergyAustralia Swim Team for the inaugural 2013 BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series in Perth this January, with Australia taking on the might of China and South Africa over two days of pool action.

In a world first, swimmers will compete for half a million dollars in prize money with individual and team prizes on offer, in what will be the first time the EnergyAustralia Swim Team has swum in Australia since 2009.

The 30-strong team will also see Olympic silver medallists James Magnussen and Christian Sprenger in action, alongside water polo matches featuring the Australian Stingers and Sharks, and an Open Water Challenge in the Swan River for elite and recreational swimmers alike.

Tickets for the BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series are ON SALE now at

Swimming Australia Head Coach Leigh Nugent says the meet is a great opportunity for the team to race as a team, and start the road to Rio against some of the best in the world.

“China won five gold medals in London and are a renowned force in world swimming, while South Africa has plenty of talent in the pool as well,” said Nugent. “This meet is not only a great opportunity to race for many of the swimmers so early in the calendar year, but also a great chance for our athletes to come together and race as the Australian team.”

For 20-year-old Cate Campbell, who was a member of the women’s 4x100m freestyle team in London, the chance to race again so soon after the Games is one she is looking forward to.

“It was a mixed Olympic Games for me, winning gold on the opening night was fantastic but then getting sick during the meet wasn’t part of the plan, so it will be nice to get back in the water to race,” said Campbell.

“To represent Australia is always a great honour and something we all look forward to, but to do it in Perth, in front of home crowd will be special.”

Campbell’s training partner and fellow Olympic medallist Christian Sprenger will also be looking forward to swimming for Australia, having just returned from a successful World Cup short course meet in Singapore.

Having broken the minute mark for the 100m breaststroke for the first time this year and then grabbing a memorable silver medal at the Olympic Games, 26-year-old Sprenger set a new Australian short course record last weekend and says his recent form has rejuvenated his swimming career.

“It has been a year to remember that’s for sure, and hopefully my form can carry through to January,” said Sprenger.

“I had a real battle with South African Cameron Van der Burgh during the Olympic final and to race swimmers of his quality, right here in Australia is a great opportunity for us.”

The swimming component of the BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series will consist of two pool sessions with athletes vying for points and prize money on each individual race, as well as overall.

For tickets go to and for information on the BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series go to

The BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series is proudly supported by naming rights sponsor BHP Billiton and the Western Australian State Government through Eventscorp and Royalties for Regions.

EnergyAustralia Swim Team for BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series
MEN: Daniel Arnamnart (NSW), Ashley Delaney (VIC), Thomas Fraser-Holmes (QLD), Jayden Hadler (NSW), Mitchell Larkin (QLD), James Magnussen (NSW), David McKeon (NSW), Kenrick Monk (QLD), Ryan Napoleon (QLD), Brenton Rickard (QLD), James Roberts (QLD), Christian Sprenger (QLD), Matthew Targett (VIC), Daniel Tranter (NSW), Chris Wright (QLD)

WOMEN: Bronte Barratt (QLD), Cate Campbell (QLD), Bronte Campbell (QLD), Alicia Coutts (QLD), Blair Evans (WA), Sally Foster (SA), Samantha Hamill (QLD), Belinda Hocking (VIC), Sarah Katsoulis (VIC), Yolane Kukla (QLD), Meagen Nay (QLD), Kylie Palmer (QLD), Leiston Pickett (QLD), Melanie Schlanger (QLD), Emily Seebohm (QLD)

Head Coach: Leigh Nugent
Coaches: Glenn Baker, Brant Best, Michael Bohl, Matthew Brown, Denis Cotterell, Simon Cusack, John Fowlie, Ron McKeon

Awards/Prize Money for Pool Swimming

The following awards will be given out:
1. Male Swimmer of the Meet
2. Female Swimmer of the Meet
3. Overall Winning Team
* The Swimmer of the Meet will be determined by FINA point score.
* The Overall Winning Team will be determined by points score. A point score will be in place for all events. The points are 7 — 5 — 4 — 3 — 2 — 1
* Points will only be awarded if the swimmer achieves the qualifying standard for the event they are competing in. Please see separate qualifying
standard table.
* Points for the 800 Freestyle will be determined by adding the 2 swimmers times together and points awarded on the lowest accumulative time. FINA points will be calculated on the individual time. No points will be awarded if a swimmer is disqualified
* There will be prize money awarded for individual and team placing.

Individual Prize
First $2,500.00
Second $1,500.00
Third $750.00

First $8,000.00
Second $4,000.00
Third $2,000.00

Individual Awards
First $15,000.00
Second $10,000.00
Third $5,000.00
First $15,000.00
Second $10,000.00
Third $5,000.00

Winning Team – based on point score
First $100,000.00
Second $50,000.00
Third $25,000.00

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.

Comments Off on Australian Olympians to Play Hosts to China and South Africa in Pro Meet in January

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here