Aussies Name Team of 38 Swimmers for World Champs in Montreal

By Stephen J. Thomas

SYDNEY, Australia. March 21. SWIMMING Australia has announced a team of twenty-one women and seventeen men to compete at the World Championships in Montreal with newly appointed team captain Grant Hackett at the helm. Hackett and Matt Welsh will be competing in their fourth World Championships and Hackett will be aiming for his fourth consecutive win in the 1500 freestyle.

There are seven members that have competed at three previous WC’s, led by the star performer of the ’98 Champs in Perth, Michael Klim, together with Giaan Rooney, Brooke Hanson, Brett Hawke, Jodie Henry, Leisel Jones and Linda MacKenzie. The Aussies will also have fourteen senior long course rookies on the squad.

The Australian World Swimming Championship Team is


1 Leith Brodie 18 Albany Creek QLD
2 Grant Hackett 24 Miami QLD
3 Brett Hawke 29 Melbourne Vicentre VIC
4 Brendon Hughes 20 Chandler QLD
5 Michael Klim 27 Klim Swim Trojans VIC
6 Andrew Lauterstein 17 Klim Swim Trojans VIC
7 Adam Lucas 21 West Coast WA
8 Kurtis MacGillivary 21 Miami QLD
9 Andrew Mewing 23 Yeronga Park QLD
10 Patrick Murphy 21 Melbourne Vicentre VIC
11 Travis Nederpelt 19 City of Perth WA
12 Jim Piper 23 West Coast WA
13 Andrew Richards 21 Smithfield NSW
14 Brenton Rickard 21 Carey Aquatic VIC
15 Mark Riley 22 Commercial QLD
16 Nicholas Sprenger 19 St Peters Western QLD
17 Matt Welsh 28 Melbourne Vicentre VIC


1 Bronte Barratt 16 Albany Creek QLD
2 Lara Carroll 18 Fremantle Port WA
3 Lara Davenport 21 Manly Jetz NSW
4 Sophie Edington 20 Kingscliff NSW
5 Jade Edmistone 23 Southern Crawl QLD
6 Felicity Galvez 20 Campbelltown NSW
7 Brooke Hanson 27 Nunawading VIC
8 Jodie Henry 21 Chandler QLD
9 Liesel Jones 19 Commercial QLD
10 Lisbeth Lenton 20 Commercial QLD
11 Linda MacKenzie 21 Mackay QLD
12 Danni Miatke 17 Carey Aquatic VIC
13 Alice Mills 18 Chandler QLD
14 Melissa Mitchell 17 SAC Seals NSW
15 Sarah Paton 18 Telopea NSW
16 Haylee Reddaway 17 Haileybury Waterlions VIC
17 Shayne Reese 22 Carey Aquatic VIC
18 Giaan Rooney 22 Melbourne Vicentre VIC
19 Jessicah Schipper 18 Redcliffe Leagues Lawnton QLD
20 Louise Tomlinson 23 Commercial QLD
21 Tayliah Zimmer 19 Kingscliff NSW

Head Coach
Alan Thompson

Team Coaches
Michael Bohl
Denis Cotterell
John Fowlie
Ian Pope
Vince Raleigh
Shannon Rollason
Greg Salter
Grant Stoelwinder
Rohan Taylor
Stephan Widmer

Comments Off on Aussies Name Team of 38 Swimmers for World Champs in Montreal

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue