Auburn Sweeps LSU, 176-115 Women/182-110 Men

AUBURN, Alabama, October 6. THE defending national champion Auburn swimming and diving team opened the season with a win over LSU on Friday at the James E. Martin Aquatics Center. The men defeated LSU 182-110 and the women were victorious 176-115.

Four individuals swam to B-cut performances and three divers earned zone qualifying scores. Co-captain Adrienne Binder picked up two provisional times in the 200 freestyle (1:48.80) and the 200 IM (2:03.77). Emily Kukors won the 200 fly with a B cut time of 2:00.55, as did defending NCAA champion Rachel Goh in the 100 back (55.32). On the men’s side, James Wike was the lone qualifier as the senior took the win in the 200 back with a B cut time of 1:46.89.

“This was a good start to the year,” head coach David Marsh said. “The team has been training hard and to perform to the standard that they did today was a good sign for where we are. This is just the beginning of the work that we need to put in to prepare for the NCAA Championships. I was particularly pleased with James [Wike] and Jakob’s [Andkjaer] performances today.”

In the diving well, defending national champion Steven Segerlin swept the springboard events, both with zone qualifying scores. On 1-meter the senior co-captain scored a 318.38 and on 3-meter he earned a 373.35. On both boards, newcomer Dan Mazzaferro was the runner-up finisher and on 3-meter he scored a 331.05 to qualify for zones. On the women’s side, senior Lynnsey Segraves scored a 255.75 on 1-meter to finish third and grab a spot a the zone championship. Segraves was second on 3-meter (275.18).

“I told the divers that this was just a start for us,” head diving coach Jeff Shaffer said. “We really tried to focus on the right train of thought before each dive and positive attitude throughout the contest regardless of what happens. This was a starting point for the season. On the plus side, Steve winning both boards and Dan finishing second was a highlight, as well as, three of the divers making zone qualifiers.”

The Auburn women took the top three places (when not exhibitioning) in six events: 50 free (Emile Ewing * 23.47), 200 free (Binder * 1:48.80), 500 free (Ava Ohlgren * 4:57.00), 1000 free (Blakeley Bunch * 10:16.08), 200 breast (Anne Amardeilh * 2:20.70) and 200 fly (Kukors * 2:00.55). On the men’s side, the Tigers swept the 100 breast, led by David Maras (56.95).

“Overall there was some pretty decent racing out there today, especially from the sophomore class,” co-women’s head coach Dorsey Tierney-Walker said. “Emile [Ewing], Kara [Nelson], Rachel [Goh] just stood out today. I think Adrienne [Binder] had a great meet, she has been very consistent in workouts. What we saw today was preparation from what the athletes did this summer and their mental outlook going into a new year.”

In addition to the above winners, the following Tigers captured event titles: Jakob Andkjer (200 free * 1:41.45), Andrew Callahan (200 breast * 2:05.36), Tawnie Bethune (100 fly * 56.45), Will Dove (1000 free * 9:22.33), Alicia Jensen (100 breast * 1:05.50), Mark Johnson (200 fly * 1:50.55), Bryan Lundquist (100 free * 45.50) and Jeff Smith (500 free * 4:33.88).

In relay action, the Tigers opened the meet with 1, 2 finishes on both the men and women’s side in the 200 medley relay. The women’s team of Goh, Jensen, Margo McCawley and Kara Denby took the win in 1:44.20, followed by Melissa Marik, Amardeilh, Bethune and Kukors (1:45.13). On the men’s side, Wike, Maras, John Scott and Andkjaer were winners in 1:30.74, followed by Lundquist, Sean Osborne, Luke Weniger and Scott Goodrich (1:31.92). The Tigers exhibitioned all 400 free relay teams.

Comments Off on Auburn Sweeps LSU, 176-115 Women/182-110 Men

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here