Auburn Closes Out Women’s NCAA Division I Title With Distance Domination from Ralph’s House of Pain

By Jason Marsteller

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, March 10. IN a tribute to assistant coach Ralph Crocker, who recently passed away, the Auburn Tigers claimed their fifth women's NCAA Division I championship with the banner of RHOP emblazoned on their shirts.

As head coach David Marsh explained, RHOP stands for Ralph's House of Pain, and the distance freestyle turned the tide with the first event of the night. At the end of the night, Auburn finished with 535 points to give Marsh his 11th career NCAA title (five women, six men) to put him within one title of all-time leader Richard Quick. With one meet to go with men's NCAAs next weekend, it is ironic that Marsh's replacement at the end of the year might wind up tied with Marsh at 12 titles as Marsh moves on to Mecklenburg Aquatics.

The rest of the top 10 is as follows:
2. Arizona, 477
3. California, 372.5
4. Stanford, 333
5. Georgia, 290
6. Texas, 220
7. Florida, 203
8. Texas A&M, 198
9. Michigan, 191
10. Tennessee, 127

As for the award winners:
Swimmer of the Year: Kara Lynn Joyce, Georgia
Diver of the Year: Cassidy Krug, Stanford
Swimming Coaches of the Year: David Marsh, Dorsey Tierney-Walker, Auburn
Diving Coach of the Year: Rick Schavone, Stanford

Click here to hear from David Marsh following his 11th career NCAA title.

Click here to hear from Georgia head coach Jack Bauerle as he talks about Kara Lynn Joyce.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here