Arena Grand Prix Santa Clara, Results: Missy Franklin Overcomes Laneline Close Call to Win 100 Back

Arena Grand Prix – Santa Clara editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page. Also, take a look at some amazing photography in our Facebook photo gallery.

SANTA CLARA, California, June 22. CALIFORNIA’s Missy Franklin had another close callwith the lane line in the women’s 100-meter backstroke at the Arena Grand Prix in Santa Clara.

A day after slamming into the lane line in the 200 back, Franklin still managed to overcome a bit of a bump tonight to top the 100 with a 1:00.99. She had to give everything she had in the finale as Carmel youngster Amy Bilquist took a run at the title with a second-place time of 1:01.44. California’s Elizabeth Pelton took third in 1:01.48.

Canada’s Dominique Bouchard (1:01.78), Pleasanton’s Hilary Caldwell (1:02.11), California’s Rachel Bootsma (1:02.23), Ellen Williamson (1:02.25), California’s Melanie Klaren (1:02.60) and Crow’s Madison White (1:02.75) also competed in the finale.

Carmel’s Claire Adams topped the B final in 1:01.59 with Mexico’s Fernanda Ramirez placing second in 1:02.20. KING’s Hannah Weiss finished third in 1:02.33.

BlueFish’s Elizabeth Beisel (1:02.40), Dynamo’s Kylie Stewart (1:02.79), Tasija Karosas (1:02.80), SwimMAC’s Kathleen Baker (1:02.93), SWAT’s Emma Schanz (1:03.23) and PCSC’s Alyson Ackman (1:04.50) put up the rest of the consolation times.

Comments Off

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here