Jenna Laukkanen
Courtesy of: Jenna Laukkanen
JYVASKYLA, Finland, July 6. FINNISH Olympian Jenna Laukkanen downed the Finnish record in the women's 200-meter breaststroke this evening at Finnish Nationals in Jyvaskyla.

Laukkanen clocked in with a winning time of 2:28.25. That swim clipped the 2:28.30 set by Noora Laukkanen back in 2009. Notably, the two are not related. Emilia Lahtinen placed second in 2:39.77, while Moona Koski earned third in 2:41.55.

Fanny Teijonsalo lowered the Finnish junior record in the women's 100-meter back with a 1:03.78 for the win. That swim surpassed the previous mark of 1:04.07 set by Lotta Nevalainen in 2011. Vilma Ruotsalainen touched second in 1:04.75, while Carita Luukkanen pocketed third in 1:04.83.

Mika Sola claimed the men's 100-meter fly title in 55.12, while Riku Poytakivi touched just behind with a second-place 55.14. Ossi Oksa rounded out the top three in 55.75. Sami Juopperi captured the men's 400-meter IM crown in 4:26.59, while Jere Laukkanen touched second in 4:32.09. Miro Torola placed third in 4:37.14.

Benita Haikola earned the women's 1500-meter free win in 17:48.83, while Tiina Lindgren (17:52.81) and Eveliina Pihkamaki (18:12.53) rounded out the top three. Teemu Vuorela hit the wall in 1:53.61 to win the men's 200-meter free. Aleksi Eskelinen (1:54.28) and Tony Eriksson (1:54.29) took second and third in the finale.

William Wihanto pulled a surprising upset of Finnish record-holder Eetu Karvonen, 28.48 to 28.51, in the men's 50-meter breaststroke. Niko Hamalainen clinched third in 28.78. Finnish legend Hanna-Maria Seppala closed the show tonight with a 25.41 to win the women's 50-meter free. Laura Kurki placed second in 26.05, while Lotta Nevalainen picked up third in 26.12.