Bob Bowman
Courtesy of: USA Today Sports
Arena Grand Prix - Charlotte editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

CHARLOTTE, North Carolina, May 16. BOB Bowman met with the media near the end of the prelims session today at the Arena Grand Prix in Charlotte, announcing that Michael Phelps would scratch the 200 free final tonight and focus solely on the 100 butterfly.

Bowman was not concerned about Phelps' time in the 200 free (1:51.69), and said he was happiest with the performance in the 100 fly later in the session.

"All in all, we're pleased," Bowman said, implying that it's up to Phelps to make the commitment to the 200-meter events.

Recaps of the 200 free, 100 fly prelim

Men 200 free

Michael Phelps' first 200 freestyle race since the 2012 Olympic Trials didn't turn out like he might have hoped. Pushing the pace through the first 150 meters, the 2008 Olympic champion in the event found himself locked out of the championship final with a 1:51.69, good for ninth place.

Conor Dwyer, Phelps' teammate at North Baltimore and the world championship silver medalist, led qualifying with a 1:49.31. Michigan's Connor Jaeger, fresh off a strong 800 freestyle win last night, was second in 1:49.90. Matt McLean of NBAC rounded out the top three qualifiers with a 1:50.00.

Anders Nielsen and Michael Wynalda, both representing Club Wolverine, took fourth and fifth with times of 1:50.93 and 1:51.27, respectively. Tyler Clary, who formerly represented Club Wolverine but is now based in Charlotte at SwimMAC, was sixth with a 1:51.30. Club Wolverine's Michael Klueh, who won the heat that featured Michael Phelps, took seventh overall with a 1:51.52. Yannick Agnel, the reigning Olympic and world champion, was eighth in 1:51.61.

With Phelps in the consolation final will be Pete Brumm (1:51.70), Charlie Houchin (1:51.78), Mitch D'Arrigo (1:51.87), Lewis Coleman (1:51.93), Thiago Pereira (1:52.46), Doga Celik (1:52.57) and Stefan Miosev (1:52.72).

Update: A false start ruling on Agnel moved Phelps up to eighth, but Phelps has scratched from the final. Brumm moves up to eighth overall, and Matias Koski (1:52.73) and Kyle Whitaker (1:52.75) move into 15th and 16th place for the B final.

Men 100 fly

Phelps made sure to leave nothing to chance in qualifying for the A final of the 100 fly, posting a 53.26 to qualify second behind the 53.23 by Belarusian (and Florida State standout) Pavel Sankovich. Dylan Bosch, who took down the shared U.S. Open record in the 200-yard fly by Phelps and Tom Shields, will swim the final in the third spot thanks to a 54.01. Joe Schooling, the national high school record holder in the 100 fly representing Bolles School, is fourth with a 54.12. Tim Phillips, now in the first few weeks of a postgrad career with SwimMAC after representing Ohio State, was fifth in 54.16.

Brazil's Thiago Pereira, skipping out on the 400 IM today, got into the 100 fly A final with a 54.26, while Benjamin Colley of North Carolina was seventh with a 54.48, smashing his lifetime best of 56.05. Mario Todorovich of Bolles School rounded out the A final with a 54.51.

Matt Josa, the star of the recent NCAA Division II championships, took ninth with a 54.54 to lead the B final qualifiers. Subirats, a two-time NCAA Division I champ in the 100 fly, was 10th with a 54.64. Eugene Godsoe, the reigning USA national champion in the 100 fly, swam a 54.70 for 11th. Patrick Park (54.78), Nico van Duijn (54.98), Omar Pinzon (55.11), Eric Anderson (55.37) and Tom Luchsinger (55.39) will also compete in the B final.