Greg Louganis
Courtesy of: YouTube
PHOENIX, Arizona, March 13. THIS week's reveal of the nominees for the James E. Sullivan Award, given to the best "amateur" athlete in the United States, includes three aquatic sport athletes. One of them is diver David Boudia, who could join an impressive list of divers that previously won this award.

Sammy Lee was the first diver to take the Amateur Athletic Union's award in 1953, followed by Pat McCormick in 1956. Greg Louganis was the last diver to win the award in 1984, thanks to legendary performances at the Los Angeles Olympics. Louganis became won both diving events (3-meter springboard and 10-meter platform) at the Olympics, breaking scoring records in the process.

Our Throwback Thursday video takes you back to the 1984 Games and one of Louganis' most successful dives in the platform event, a back three-and-a-half somersault. Cynthia Potter, who still provides color commentary for diving, made her Olympic commentary debut in 1984.


Search For More News About: Greg Louganis