Clay Youngquist
Courtesy of: Joe Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports
Speedo Champions Series editorial coverage this summer is proudly sponsored by SpeedoUSA. For all the latest coverage from sectionals this summer, check out our Summer of Speedo page.

OXFORD, Ohio, July 22. AFTER a full weekend of action in the Speedo Champions Series, the sectional circuit moved on to Ohio for the weeklong Oxford stop.

Maria Bargardi cleared 2:17 for the first time in her career as she raced to a 2:16.94 for the women's 200-meter backstroke win. She chopped nearly a second off her previous personal best of 2:17.71 from the Mike Peppe Invitational two weeks ago. GTAC's Christina Noens finished just behind in second with a 2:17.04, while Club Wolverine's Marie Georger wound up third in 2:17.16 in what proved to be a close finish.

Dayton Raider Patrick Mulcare smashed the field and his lifetime best in the men's 200-meter back with a 2:02.42. That performance far surpassed his previous best of 2:05.37 from this meet last year. LESD's Austin Quinn finished second in 2:05.77, while PCC's Jack Walsh earned third in 2:07.46.

Cincinnati Marlins' Alexandra Wooden touched out Ohio State's Aliena Schmidtke by the slimmest of margins, 26.27 to 26.28, in the women's 50-meter freestyle event. Wooden used the extra motivation to cut half-a-second off her best, while Schmidtke also clipped her personal best of 26.31. Mason Manta Rays' Alisabeth Marsteller rounded out the top three in personal-best 26.48.

Lakeview's Clay Youngquist blitzed the men's 50-meter freestyle event with a lifetime best 23.30. That swim eclipsed his previous best of 23.64 from three years ago at a 2010 sectional event. QDD's Steven Hill posted a second-place time of 23.63, while Mason Manta Rays' Austin Caldwell wound up third in 23.65.

Vacationland's Taylor Vargo cruised to victory in the women's 200-meter breaststroke with a time of 2:37.12, while PCC's Miranda Tucker checked in with a second-place time of 2:38.05. Club Wolverine's Monica Dorszewski snatched third in 2:38.32.

Ohio State swept the men's 200-meter breaststroke as Dmitry Dolgov won in 2:17.04. Teammates David Stone (2:18.43) and Christopher Cowley (2:18.58) placed second and third in the distance breaststroke event.

In distance freestyle events, Alexandra Norris of Ohio State won the women's 800-meter free in 8:51.54, while QDD's Emma Skelley touched second in 8:55.16. FAST's Abbegayle Schneider took third in 9:01.72. Dayton Raider Clifford Goertemiller turned in a 15:53.41 to win the men's 1500-meter free. QDD's Gregory Stoffa (16:03.09) and Henry Campbell (16:06.69) rounded out the top three.

Ohio State's Kathryn Luchansky (2:05.55), Aliena Schmidtke (2:02.51), Camey Rabold (2:08.79) and Alexandra Norris (2:01.63) closed out the night winning the women's 800-meter free relay in 8:18.48.

Results: Speedo Champions Series, Oxford: Day One