Nicholas Caldwell
Speedo Champions Series editorial coverage this summer is proudly sponsored by SpeedoUSA. For all the latest coverage from sectionals this summer, check out our Summer of Speedo page.

By Elle Meinholz

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, July 20. THE Minneapolis Speedo Sectional ended on a great note with a lot of best times and a lot of stand-out swimmers placing in the top three. Katherine Drabot and Nick Caldwell ended the meet with wins in their respective events after turning in strong overall meets.

Drabot, a 15-year old from Ozaukee Aquatics, won the first event of the night, the women's 200 meter IM. Drabot won the A final with a time of 2:17.87, leaving quite the impression on this Speedo Sectional. About a second and a half behind, Wisconsin Aquatics' Rebecka Palm came in second place with a personal best of 2:19.15. Minnesota's own Becca Weiland checked in third with her best time of 2:19.26.

In the men's 200 IM, Luke Bushman of Minnesota Aquatics won the event with a personal best by more than two seconds, for a final time of 2:06.23. Bushman, who transferred to Minnesota from Penn State, has made a huge impact on the team in the short time he has been with the Golden Gophers. Right behind Bushman was soon-to-be Hawkeye Nick Zito with a best time of 2:06.53. Third place was 16-year old Jacob Miller with his personal best of 2:07.35.

The women's mile was next, where 15-year old Kirsten Jacobsen crushed the heat with her personal best of 17:01.99. Morgan Dickson placed second with a time of 17:17.90. Emily Launer captured third with a time of 17:19.41.

In the women's 50 meter freestyle, the top three girls just snuck under their best times. Big Ten Champion Ivy Martin won the event with a personal best of 25.15. Melissa Gates took second with a best time of 25.61 about a half-second behind the leader. Sam Senczyszyn, 16, finished third with a best time of 26.06.

Best times came from the top three in the men's 50 meter freestyle as well. First place went to Stanford commit Connor Black with an impressive 23.12. Daniel Whitcomb finished second with a 23.45. Whitcomb just touched out third place Joseph Halmser, who went a best of 23.47.

In the men's 1500 meter freestyle, Nick Caldwell earned his fourth Speedo Sectional Championship title with a time of 16:08.31. Although Caldwell has been off of his personal bests throughout the meet, he has still produced impressive performances, crushing his events. Behind Caldwell came second-place Luke Dobben with a time of 16:13.95, a best time by almost 22 seconds. Joe Szczupakiewicz checked in third with his best time of 16:15.81.

In the women's 400 meter medley relay, Wisconsin Aquatics took first place with their morning swim time of 4:16.74. The Wisconsin A team consisted of Shelby Wilson, Anna Meinholz, Ivy Martin, and Aja Van Hout. Taking second right behind Wisconsin was Academy Bullets Swim Club with a time of 4:18.49. Their team was made up of Amanda Moran, Pauline Kaminski, Annie Gosselin, Mary Schneider. Third place was Ozaukee Aquatics A team of Autumn Haebig, Sam Senczyszyn, Katherine Drabot, and Skylar Fore with a time of 4:20.27.

The men's 400 meter medley relay was won by CATS aquatic team with a time of 3:48.68. The CATS A team consisted of Alexander Snarski, Kyle Aerne, Connor Black, and Bogdan Balteanu. Second place was Minnesota Aquatics men Luke Bushman, Josh Hall, Andrew Johnson, and Danny Brebrick with a time of 3:49.73. A close third place was Wisconsin Aquatics with a time of 3:50.41. The Wisconsin A team was Austin Byrd, Nick Schafer, T.J. Thompson, and Damon Zito.

Results: Speedo Champions Series, Minneapolis: Day Four