Mississippi High School State Championships

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on SwimmingWorld.com. For more information about Agon, visit their website Agonswim.com.

CLEVELAND, Mississippi, Oct. 28. THE record book took quite a beating during the Mississippi State High School Championships Oct. 26 in Cleveland. Records were set in 21 events during the one-day competition, held in two divisions.

St. Andrews' girls defeated last year's champ, Cleveland, by a score of 122-90. Alex Good doubled in the 100-200 free for St. Andrews (100 free, 53.31; 200 free, 1:55.23), as well as sister Carly (100 breast, 1:10.05; 200 IM, 2:14.85) and Maggie Gleason (100 back, 59.83; 100 fly, division record 59.83). The Saints also turned in two record setting relays (200 medley, division record 1:52.14; 400 free, state record 3:41.43).

St. Joseph Catholic's Niijor May turned in a division record-setting 25.06 in the 50 free. Manuela Portilla, swimming for Mississippi State Math and Science, posted a winning 5:25.23 in the 500 free, and Cleveland's 200 free relay combined for a winning 1:47.59.

On the boys side, St. Joseph earned its first-ever state swimming title with 107 points, ahead of St. Andrew's 86. The victorious Bruins set division standards in their winning 200 medley (1:48.22) and 400 free (3:29.50); Walker Burrow set an individual division mark in the 100 back with his 57.09.

St. Andrew's was led by double-event champion (and double Division 1 record-setter) Jack Smithson, who claimed titles in the 100 fly (53.41) and 200 IM (2:01.18), and Thatcher Shepard, who turned in a winning 5:17.71 in the 500 free.

St. Aloysius prevented a sweep of the relay events via their 1:37.09 in the 200 free relay, and Wally Wibowo took charge of the sprint events (50 free, 22.27; 100 free, 49.43). St. Patrick's Zack Cruthirds lowered division records in both the 200 free (1:46.83) and 100 breast (1:02.80).

Tupelo High School, for the third straight year, swept the team titles in Division 2 action. The Golden Wave girls earned their third straight title, 101-80, over Madison Central. The boys have now earned six straight championships, dating back to the single-division era. They scored 124 points to Oxford's 90.

Cris Roberts added valuable points for Tupelo with her Division 2 record-setting efforts in the 100 back (58.98) and 100 fly (57.27). Tupelo swimmers combined for a 1:52.53 victory in the 200 medley relay.

Laken Vickers set a state record 1:05.72 in the 100 breast, and division records were lowered by Lewisburg's Gaby Sanchez (500 free, 5:06.96), Brandon's Taylor Ballard (200 IM, 2:11.53) and Harrison Central's Kyjana Webber (100 free, 52.45). Webber nabbed a second win in the 50 free (24.01). Division records were also claimed by Madison Central's 200 free relay (1:42.52, just ahead of Starkville's 1:42.58) and Starkville's 400 free relay (3:46.34).

A.K. Mitchell from Northwest Rankin was the only sub-2:00 swimmer in the 200 free, cruising to a 1:58.99 finish.

Olive Branch's Sean Kirwan missed out on setting division standards by a mere 6-hundredths. In the 100 free, he finished second to Tupelo's Connor Anderson, 47.59-47.62. Kirwan again fell 3-hundredths shy of a victory in the 100 breast, placing runner-up to Northwest Rankin's Ralph Moore, 1:00.26-1:00.29.Anderson picked up a second win courtesy of his 52.73 in the 100 fly.

Tupelo's 200 free relay lowered the state record to 1:27.70 in the 200 free relay, and also finished first in the 200 medley relay (1:39.86). Corey Person from Columbus bettered the Division 2 mark he set last year (55.36) with this year's 54.57.

Jackson Kojima of Madison Central topped the field in both the 200 free (1:45.93) and 500 free (4:50.34). Tupelo's Michael Ray finished first in the 50 free (21.87), and Clinton's Noah Young powered his way to a 2:00.16 win in the 200 IM. Oxford's 400 free relay squad squeaked by Tupelo to prevent a relay sweep by 1-tenth, 3:21.19 to 3:21.29.

Submit your All America Application now

Results: High School State Championships: Mississippi