UC Davis Team
Courtesy of: UC Davis Athletics
MONTEREY PARK, California, February 23. UC Davis women compiled 712.5 points to defend their MPSF Championship, and earning a third title in four years of the event. UC Santa Barbara took the silver with 638, followed by BYU for the bronze with 620. On the Men's side, BYU won its second MPSF Championship (last one in 2012) with 751, ahead of Hawaii (619) and Pacific (442).

Saturday highlights included Andrea Ward of UCSB, breaking the women's 200 Fly MPSF Championship record (1:55.79), as well as more individual success from Hawaii. Jasmine Alkhaldi took down the 100 Free mark (49.27), while Victor Goicochea broke the 1650 meet record (14:52.10). Over in Pasadena, meanwhile, it was a platform UH sweep. Aimee Harrison (249.15) and Amund Gismervik took the gold, with the latter going "10-Bingo" on one dive and breaking the conference record (432.20). In the women's 200 Breast, Liliana Alvarez of UC Davis broke the all-time facility record at East LA College, with a winning 2.12.64. Friday, Alvarez became the first-ever MPSF swimmer to win four championship races in the same event, achieving the feat in the 100 Breast.

All told, 12 MPSF Championship records were set over the four days in Monterey Park and Pasadena, six for each gender. Jake Taylor of BYU set three of those records, in the 100 Back, 200 Back, and 200 IM. Goicochea was also a double-event record breaker in the 500 and 1650 Free.

The 2014 major awards in MPSF Swimming and Diving went to Ward (MPSF Swimmer of the Year), Hilvy Cheung of UC Davis for freshman of the year, and Gregg Wilson of UCSB as coach of the year. Gismervik was male diver of the year, while Harrison was women's diver of the year as a repeat winner. Mike Brown and Anita Rossing of UH were diving co-coaches of the year for both genders, while Victor Wales earned his first MPSF Coach of the Year in men's swimming.

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World. To reach our audience, contact us at newsmaster@swimmingworldmagazine.com.

Results: Mountain Pacific Conference: Day Four