2013NCAAD2 Florida Southern Parents
Courtesy of: Kyle Staggs
ORLANDO, Florida, February 21. THE University of Tampa women and Florida Southern University men maintained their leads in the team standings during the third night of racing at the Sunshine State Conference Championships in Orlando. Five more meet records and two conference records fell during the evening. Nova Southeastern freshman Marco Aldabe took down the men's 400 IM conference record with a 3:52.96, while Saint Leo's Matheus Assis downed the men's 100 fly mark with a 48.07 to highlight another quick night of racing.

Sunshine State Conference Press Release

Five more Sunshine State Conference Swimming Championship meet records, including two overall conference records, fell on Friday at the Orlando YMCA Aquatic Center. Through three days, a total of 12 meet records have been set and four overall conference records have been broken.

In the morning preliminary races, Lynn's Tyne Potgieter earned the top spot in the evening finals in the women's 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:02.39. Her time set a new conference championship meet record as well as the overall conference record.

Florida Southern won both the men's and women's 200-yard medley relay events with conference championship meet record times. On the women's side, Lauren Reynolds, Kelsey Gouge, Alex Ballard and Cassie Ley won gold with a time of 1:44.05 for an NCAA provisional time.

On the men's side, Thomas Nguyen, Zach Edwards, Edson Lima and Robbie Swan won gold with a time of 1:28.93 for an NCAA provisional time.

Nova Southeastern's Marco Aldabe earned the only NCAA automatic qualifying time on day three of the conference championship. Aldabe won the men's 400-yard IM in a time of 3:52.96. His time tied the conference championship meet record.

For the second time in as many days, Saint Leo's Matheus Assis broke one of his own conference championship meet record and overall conference record times. On Friday, Assis won gold in the men's 100-yard butterfly in a time of 48.07 seconds. His time was just short of the 48.06 second NCAA automatic qualifying time.

Florida Southern's Edison Lima took second in the men's 100-yard butterfly with a time of 48.65 seconds. His time was also better than the previous conference championship meet record of 48.73 seconds set by Assis in 2013.

Through 26 events the women's standings are as follows: 1. Tampa (621 points), 2. Florida Southern (555 points), 3. Nova Southeastern (430 points), 4. Florida Tech (263 points), 5. Saint Leo (250 points), 6. Rollins (216 points), 7. Lynn (186 points).

Through 26 events the men's standings are as follows: 1. Florida Southern (653 points), 2. Nova Southeastern (528 points), 3. Tampa (526 points), 4. Florida Tech (292 points), 5. Saint Leo (218 points), 6. Rollins (157 points).

For full results and medal winners for the third day of the conference championships, visit the championship central page.

The final day of the SSC Championship will begin with preliminaries at 10 a.m., and the finals following at 5 p.m. The team champions and the Swimmer of the Meet awards (swimmer with the most points) will be announced at the conclusion of the championship event.

Catch live video coverage of the final day at the 2014 SSC Swimming Championship Central page.

Results: Sunshine State Conference Championships, Day Three